Teamwork in PowerShell – ScriptingGames Follow up

Hello everyone,

Today I want to write one of the articles I promised I’d do as a follow up to the scripting games.

The tasks this time around were a lot harder than I had anticipated when I signed up. Honestly I nearly withdrew from the competition when I saw the practice round task. I had no idea how I would go about approaching something of that scale. Anyway, no one is reading this to hear about my feelings! This article is going to cover what our team did differently and why I think it mattered.

The Kitton_Mittons’ took a less democratic approach than most teams. Instead of each person contributing equally we started out with the idea that I would be the team lead and I would assign tasks to people as they were available. I would ultimately be responsible for all the content we published. The purpose of our team was for me to work with some of my friends to help them learn PowerShell, from the outset we had a defined hierarchy. I also personally believe that teams work best when there is a person in charge. Everyone had their own assignments and I was available to mentor any team member when they were working on their functions but before anything was submitted I would personally vet all the content and make any changes I thought were required.

As the games evolved so did our team dynamic, some rounds were really rough, particularly round 2, and some were a lot easier. We also got really lucky, at the PowerShell Saturday 007 event and just after round 3 finished, I met a guy, @Sred13, who actually won the Iron Scripter event and wanted to join our team. We added him on and he helped out in the last round. Even after we added another experienced PowerShell professional we stuck with our original dynamic. It worked out well and even though our scores don’t reflect it I think we did our best work in round 4.

I guess the message I want to get across is that regardless of how many experts you have on a team the internal dynamic matters. There were lots of good teams this year and a lot of guys that I know are better than me at PowerShell. We had a team with a defined hierarchy and we had a lot of good luck with our judges. I think both things helped us win the games this year. I’m not trying to say we didn’t deserve a win but I think everyone that competed at the top level in these games is aware that while the judging was good the scores were heavily influenced by how much the judges were paying attention.

Alright! That’s out of the way and now you can expect any follow up posts to focus on technical topics and concepts. If anyone is interested in reading more about the more philosophical aspects of PowerShell and administration check out this great blog from @stevenmurawski.

http://stevenmurawski.com/

Also be sure to check out an outstanding System Center blog from @Sred13:

http://foxdeploy.com/

Thank you for reading!

This entry was posted in PowerShell and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

